KB User's Guide - Users Tab - Viewing, Modifying and Deleting Users
This document explains how to modify users in the KB Admin Tools, and what to do if a user needs to be removed.
Viewing a User
Going to the Users tab will take you to the Existing Users: Active Users screen. You can view all your users or you may use the Search/ display filters to limit your query.
- Find - You may search for users by NetID, Domain, Name, Email or Subject area.
- User status/ rights - This dropdown filter defaults to Active users and includes; Admin users, All users, Users with Publish rights, Inactive users.
- User access group - This dropdown filter defaults to All user access groups and includes No user access groups and will list all your user access groups.
- Limit - This dropdown filter defaults to 25 entries per page and goes up to 800 entries.
- Go - Once you make your filter selection(s), click on the Go button to execute your search.
The following checkboxes can be used to show or hide columns in the Users table.
- NetID - The user's NetID/username
- Domain - The institution domain the user's account was created under, e.g. "wisc.edu"
- FirstName - The first name that was entered for the user
- LastName - The last name that was entered for the user
- Email - The email address that is being used for notifications to the user
- Docs - The current number of documents the user owns
- Asst (Assessment)
Note: The Assessment Tab is not enabled in the KB Admin Tools for groups that do not have any existing quiz/survey questions. Because of this, the Asst (Assessment) permissions filter will not appear for those groups. If your group would like to use the Assessment Tab features, reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org to have the tab activated.
- ID - The user's account ID number
- User Access Groups - A list of any User Access Groups the user is a member of
- More - A button that will open the user account details page
Modifying a User
Using the steps above, find the user whose permissions you want to modify.
Modify the user's permissions by checking/unchecking the permission checkboxes, or by updating the text fields.
- Note: Text fields for a user are only editable within a user's default group space. If the text fields appear to be grayed out (i.e., read-only), this indicates that the user has access to at least one other group space, which is their default. To see what their default group space is, click on the More button for their account and scroll to the bottom of the account details page.
Click on the Update button at bottom of page.
Deleting a User
Click on the Users tab which leads you to the Existing Users: Active Users screen.
Find the user who you intend to remove from your group.
Click in the More button at the far right of the row of the user to be deleted. In the image below, the More button is circled in red.
At the bottom of that table, you may see one or all of the following "Transfer" buttons, which you must process through before you can remove the user:
- If the user owns documents, you will see a Transfer Doc Ownership button. For more information on this option, please see: KB User's Guide - Users Tab - Batch Transfer Document Ownership
- If the user owns news items and/or quizzes, you will see buttons to Transfer News Ownership and/or Transfer Quiz Ownership.
You will see a Remove User from the Group button and/or a Remove User from the System button, depending on whether they have access to more than one KB group space and which space is set as their default.
Click on one of these buttons and a message will appear asking if you are sure you want to delete the user.
Note: For more information on the difference between these, please see:
- Click on the Yes button and you will receive a confirmation message;
"email@example.com has been removed from this group space".
Batch User Removal
If you have a list of users who need to be removed, go to the Users tab and click on the Batch User Removal link
This will lead you to the Batch User Removal screen.
To remove users from your KB group space: enter the domain name, a pipe delimiter and then the NetID of each user. Only one user per line.
Click on the Remove Users button.
Users who have content in your KB group space will not be removed. You will need to Transfer Ownership of those documents first.
Users who do not have content in your KB group space and who have your KB group space as their default group will be removed from the system.