Disclaimer: This news item was originally posted on Friday, Sep 25, 2020. Its content may no longer be timely or accurate.

Blackboard Collaborate - Recording Privacy Settings Change 09/24/20

Posted: 09:41:32, Friday, Sep 25, 2020   Expiration: 09:41:32, Friday, Oct 2, 2020  

On 09/24/20, Blackboard updated the default recording privacy settings for new Blackboard Collaborate recordings made within the University of Wisconsin System account (Madison included). The new recording privacy settings default to "allow public access," which allows any user with the link to a recording to view that recording without logging in.

The change impacts all University of Wisconsin Blackboard Collaborate instances (Madison included) and includes Collaborate Classic and Ultra recordings made after 09/24 through the Canvas integration, the My Wisconsin Portal integration, and manually-created meetings.

This change restores the recording privacy settings that existed before Blackboard Collaborate Ultra’s August 12 Release, which changed the default setting to not allow public access. Regardless of the default, meeting owners can change the recording privacy settings for individual recordings.

-- UWSA DLE: Thomas Arendalkowski

Created: 04:57:32, Friday, Sep 25, 2020 (by Thomas A.)
Updated: 10:00:21, Friday, Sep 25, 2020 (by Thomas A.)