Topics Map > Canvas
Topics Map > Blackboard Collaborate

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (Recordings) - Allow Public Access

By default, Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings made within the University of Wisconsin System (including Madison) instances of Blackboard Collaborate Ultra are set to "Allow Public Access," which allows recording owners to access a publicly shareable link. This guide describes how a Teacher could change this setting for a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recording created through the Canvas integration.

Why this Matters

The "Allow Public Access" setting has two main effects:

a) Recordings with Allow Public Access disabled can't be automatically copied to Kaltura, and will simply be deleted when the media retention period is up. See UW System's media management process for Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings for more information. 

b) If Allow Public Access is enabled, then Teachers in the Canvas course can use the Recording Options menu (see step 4, below), to copy a guest access link for the recording. This link could be used to share the recording with users outside of the Canvas course. If Allow Public Access is disabled, users who follow the guest access link will get an error saying "This recording isn't available to view."

Updating Recording Settings

1) Log in to Canvas, go to Courses or Dashboard, and navigate to the course that the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recording was made in.

2) In the course navigation on the left, go to Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.

3) At the top left of the Collaborate Ultra Sessions screen, open the dropdown menu, then click Recordings.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Sessions screen, with the drop-down menu at the top of the screen opened and "Recordings" highlighted.

4) On the Recordings screen, click the Recording Options (...) dropdown to the right of the recording details then click Recording Settings.

Collaborate Ultra Recordings screen with Recording Options and Recording Settings highlighted.

5) On the Recording Settings screen, check Allow Public Access to allow or uncheck to deny public access, then click Save.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Recording Settings, with Allow Public Access highlighted.





Keywords:webconference, webconferencing, web conference, web conferencing, recording, video, share, public   Doc ID:107613
Owner:Thomas A.Group:UW System Administration DLE
Created:2020-12-04 13:29 CDTUpdated:2021-07-01 08:43 CDT
Sites:UW Parkside, UW Platteville, UW Stout, UW System Administration DLE, UW-La Crosse
Feedback:  0   0