The following are more secure ways to invite users to Blackboard Collaborate Ultra online meetings:
One of the simplest ways of reducing the chances of uninvited participants joining a Collaborate Ultra webinar is to not send invited participants a direct link to the meeting. Instead, you can send them a link to a password-protected landing page (such as a Canvas course or Sharepoint site) which contains the Guest link to the meeting.
Hiding the Guest link behind a password prevents outside users who accidentally stumble onto a meeting invitation from accessing the meeting (since they would have to log in to a restricted site to see the Guest link). It also makes it slightly harder for one of your invited participants to intentionally share the Guest link, since the invitation doesn't directly contain it.
Unfortunately, this method will not prevent an invitee who is determined to share your Guest link with other people from doing so, because they can can log in, extract the guest link, and share it with other people.
Meeting owners who want a greater level of meeting security should use one of the other options below.
2) Disable Guest Access
A meeting owner can avoid the security challenges of guest links entirely by turning them off and more actively managing the invited participants.
To turn off guest links for a meeting you've created, open up Collaborate Ultra session editing screen and uncheck the Guest Access box.
If you turn off guest access after sharing the guest link with participants, make sure to give them another way to access your online meeting (usually through Canvas or individual invitations, below).
3) Canvas "Collaborate Ultra" Feature
If you and your participants are enrolled in a Canvas course with the Collaborate Ultra feature enabled in the course navigation
, you can create Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions within your course and then disable Guest Access (above). Any student enrolled in the course will have access to your webinar through the Collaborate Ultra
link in the course navigation:
With Guest Access disabled, anonymous access is disabled too. Enrolled users will appear in the Collaborate Ultra meeting under the same name they have in Canvas's People tool.
4) Canvas Course Room
An even more secure way of limiting participant access to Collaborate Ultra meetings within a Canvas course is to use the Course Room option.
The Course Room is a default feature of all Collaborate Ultra-enabled Canvas courses. It has all of the advantages of any Canvas-created Collaborate Ultra meeting (above) and in addition, individual sessions can be locked.
Once the instructor has started a Collaborate Ultra session in the Course Room and all of the participants they want have entered, the instructor can return to the tab with the Collaborate Ultra Sessions page and Lock course room.
This prevents other participants from entering the room until the instructor unlocks the Course Room again. This can be used to keep office hours or group meetings confidential or to prevent unwanted users from re-entering after they've been removed
5) Individual Meeting Invitations
An individual invitation creates a unique link for each user which is named (non-anonymous), and can only be used by one person at a time. This allows the meeting owner to disable guest access (above) but still give invited participants a way to access the meeting.