Microsoft Teams - Uploading, Editing, and Deleting Files
File sharing in Teams is an effective way to simply share your work with your team, as well as a useful way to collectively edit a variety of documents.
File sharing in Teams is an effective way to simply share
your work with your team, as well as a useful way to collectively edit a
variety of documents.
Uploading a file
to the chat or team channel that you want to upload the file to.
on the paperclip icon below the chat bar.
you can upload files from a variety of locations.
finding the file, you can add a message by typing in the chat box, and you can
send both the file and the message as one chat.
can add multiple files to one message and send them at the same time.
the three dots next to any of the uploaded files to edit them (within Teams or
within the actual app that the document stems from), download any of the files,
or make a tab for the file.
in Teams” brings you to a page inside of the Teams client where members of your
chat/Team can edit the same file in real time. Any changes made to the document
are saved automatically and anyone inside of that specific chat or team can
make changes to the document.
this a tab” adds a new tab to your conversation wherein the document will be
located for easier access. Everyone in the conversation/team will be able to
see this tab and can edit the document from there.
the tab created for the document, users are able to rename or remove the tab
from the conversation.
the files tab of any chat/team chat is where uploaded files can be viewed and
edited/downloaded. You can also upload files from this page.
on the three dots next to the file name (on the files tab within your
conversation) will allow you to move/copy a file from one location to another.
move/copy a file, keep clicking on the up arrow and or teams/channels until you
get to the desired location.
Deleting a file
view any files that have been shared within any teams/chats, click on the File
tab on the left side of Teams.
recents, you’ll see all files that have been shared in any teams/chats you are
a part of.
deleting the message in which the file was attached will not actually delete
order to delete a file, navigate to the files tab within the specific team/chat
where the file is located.
the three dots next to the file you’d like to delete and click “Delete”. This
will delete the file for everyone in the group.