By default, when a Microsoft Group is created, the Group and its members are visible within Global Address List (GAL). This means that anyone (members and non-members) within UW-Madison's implementation of Office 365 will be able to search for and see the members of any Group.
All group functionality will continue to work, but the group not be visible in any searches. For users that are members of the Office 365 Group, the group will still appear in the navigation pane in Outlook clients. All other parameters of the group can still be managed by the group owner(s).
When a non-member of the group views the details of the group, the members of the group will not be available. Important: This parameter can only be set during the creation of the Group by Office 365 administrators. There is no need to perform this action if the Group is hidden in the GAL.
Important: this setting can only be set at creation of the Group - it cannot be modified after the Group has been created.
Important: You will receive a confirmation email after the group has been created.