This document outlines how to cross-list your sections in Canvas. This is the process of moving a section (containing enrolled students) from one course to another.
In Canvas, the process of combining the enrollments from two or more sections in one course is called cross-listing. Cross-listing in Canvas entails moving an enrollment section from one course shell to another.
When sections are cross-listed/merged, Canvas does not create a new course shell for the combined sections. Instead, you must choose one of the existing course shells as the primary course, i.e., the one you'll use for teaching all the cross-listed sections. Then, you will move the enrollments of the other sections from their original locations into the primary course. Once your sections are cross-listed, students will only see the primary course in their list of courses.
Perform any cross-listing before the semester begins.
Important: Learn@UW-Madison Support recommends creating an ad-hoc section when crosslisting a course. Without an ad-hoc section, you will be unable to access the original course (without further assistance from the DoIT Help Desk or a departmental instructional technologist). You may also lose access to discussion sections (if you have not cross-listed them already). You also will be unable to undo the cross-listing process.
Instructors and department administrators: You can only de-cross-list/un-merge courses if you are enrolled in the original section as a Principal Instructor; see steps 1-4 above. If you didn't add yourself to an ad-hoc section before cross-listing, contact the DoIT Help Desk or your departmental instructional technologist.
Note: All grades for students in this course will no longer be visible in either the original or the primary course. You can retrieve the grades by cross-listing the course again, but in the meantime the grades for these students will come from the original course.
In your My Courses list, you'll continue to see all the ad-hoc sections you created in your secondary courses before cross-listing. If you wish to reduce clutter in your My Courses list, the ad-hoc sections can be removed after confirming that your sections are correctly crosslisted and that you're able to access all of your course materials from your primary site.
If you remove your ad-hoc sections, you'll lose access to the secondary courses (but your rosters will remain in the primary site).
For assistance removing your ad-hoc sections, contact the DoIT Help Desk or your local instructional technologist if they have the ability to assist with this.
Important: Request removal of your ad-hoc sections only if you are certain you will not want to de-cross-list the sections in the future.