Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 01-07-16

Approved 1-21-16
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, January 7, 2015
67 Bascom Hall

Members Present:  Bruno Browning; Aaron Crandall; Trish Iaccarino; Sarah Kuba; Heather Mc Fadden, Chair; Michael Moscicke; Robert Newsom; Kevin Niemi

Guests: Tom Durkin, Carl Hampton, Sarah Mangelsdorf, Jim Rogers, Patrick Sims, Jake Smith

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m.

The minutes of December 10, 2015, and December 17, 2015, were approved.

General Reports

Liaison Reports
UW System Academic Staff Representatives-Kevin Niemi reported he will not serve on the committee for the Titling and Compensation study.  The representative from UW Stevens Point will be nominated to serve.

Guest: Sarah Mangelsdorf, Provost
Provost Mangelsdorf reported that only students were notified about the mumps cases since there were only two cases reported.

The next draft of the documents created by the Tenure Task Force will be distributed in early January.

Guest: Patrick Sims, Chief Diversity Officer
For the first time, the Committee on Diversity and Campus Climate; Minority and Disadvantaged Coordinators, and the Equity and Diversity Committee met together with the idea of creating a statement that would hold the institution accountable for diversity.  As a first step, the group looked at existing documents and started drafting language.  This project connects with the campus climate survey and diversity inventory projects.  The statement should speak to employees at all levels.  He plans to bring a draft statement back to ASEC for input and plans to bring the document to the Academic Staff Assembly, the Faculty Senate, the University Staff Congress, and ASM.

Motion to Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to discuss appointment to Ad Hoc Committee on IRBs and nominations to the Nominating Committee. (Moscicke). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to convene in Open Session (Moscicke).  Seconded. Approved.

Motion to appoint Maggie Townsend to the Ad Hoc Committee on IRBs (Crandall). Seconded. Approved.

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff