Communications Committee Minutes 10-20-14

Approved 11-21-14
Communications Committee Minutes
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Monday, October 20, 2014
54 Bascom Hall

Members Present: Diane Doering, Co-Chair; Mary Farrell-Stieve; Laura Gallagher, Co-Chair; Peter Kleppin; Pamela O’Donnell

Guests: Heather Daniels, Jake Smith

The meeting was called to order at 11:04 a.m.

Committee Member Introductions/Election of Committee Chairs

After a round of introductions, Heather Daniels discussed the job responsibilities of the chair position, which include calling meetings, informing the Secretary of the Academic Staff’s office of meetings, leading the committee in its business, and acting as a liaison between the committee and ASEC and the Academic Staff Assembly.

There was agreement amongst the members that having co-chairs would serve the committee better than a single chair. The Secretary’s office is also available to arrange meetings as needed.

Motion to elect Diane Doering and Laura Gallagher as co-chairs of the Communications Committee (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Discussion of 2014-15 Academic Staff Governance Priorities

The committee felt that it could best fulfill its role in the following areas:
Other areas the committee discussed included:
Discussion of 2014-15 Committee Projects
Meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Minutes submitted by Jake Smith, Deputy Secretary of the Academic Staff