Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 05-09-13

Approved May 23, 2013

2:00-4:30 p.m. Thursday, May 9, 2013
67 Bascom

Members present: Marwa Bassiouni, Heather Daniels, Past-Chair; Denny Hackel, Robin Kurtz, Heather McFadden, Vice-Chair; Robert Newsom, Erin Silva.

Members absent: Jim Maynard, Jeff Shokler, Chair.

Guests: Michael Bernard-Donals, University Committee; Aaron Brower, UW-Extension; Mark Cook, University Committee; Steve Lund, APO; Laurie Silverberg, Communications Committee; Brenda Spychalla, SOAS Search Committee/Mentoring Committee; Anjali Sridharan, APO; Mark Walters, APO.

Vice Chair Heather McFadden called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

The ASEC minutes for Thursday, May 2, 2013 were approved as distributed.


General Reports

Guests: Mark Cook and Michael Bernard-Donals, University Committee: Dorothy Farrar-Edwards of the School of Education, M. Elizabeth Meyerand of the College of Engineering and the School of Public Health, and Grant Petty of the College of Letters and Science have been elected to the University Committee. Mark encouraged ASEC and UC to consider a joint meeting after July 1. He also reported that the May 6 Faculty Senate meeting included a motion on disinvestment in fossil fuels companies and they are considering naming an Ad Hoc faculty and staff committee to discuss this issue. The Committee on Committee is reviewing the structure of the Transportation Committee. UC is working with the Labor Licensing Committee to develop a new charge. Mark asked ASEC to consider working together on the development of a educational resource for shared governance committees. The naming of a Civic Engagement Committee might be deferred until new chancellor begins. The WARF Committee has met four times and has not yet consulted with ASEC; one possible area of review would be to meet needs that arise from sequestration. This led to a discussion on the need for UC and ASEC to work together in encouraging the development of a sequestration plan for campus.

Guest: Aaron Brower, UW Flexible Degree Program: The program is submitting materials to the Higher Learning Commission for a pilot assessment on non-credit, non-time based programs as well as beginnings discussions with the Department of Education regarding Title IV funding. Cohort one programs include bachelors in Nursing, Information Technology, and Diagnostic Imaging from UW-Milwaukee and a certificate in Professional Communication from UW Colleges. Four units at Madison are considering programs for Cohort two.

Guest: Steve Lund: Steve requested ASEC’s advice on the criteria for pay plan distribution. ASEC felt that, given the lack of a prior pay plan, higher consideration should be given to across the board that to merit based pay. ASEC also advised that individuals who have received base adjustment should receive the average. In response to a request for advice on parameters for pay adjustments based on performance, ASEC asked for time to consider these questions. ASEC asked for data on the average number of people per year who received adjustments.


The meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.

Submitted by Jo Ann Carr, Interim Secretary of the Academic Staff.