Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 07-11-13

Approved 7-18-2013

ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, July 11, 2013
67 Bascom Hall

Members present: Marwa Bassiouni, Denny Hackel (by conference call), Trish Iaccarino, Jim Maynard, Heather McFadden, Chair; Robert Newsom, Kevin Niemi, Jeff Shokler, Past-Chair; Erin Silva, Vice-Chair.

Guests: Gene Masters, Districting and Representation

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m.

The minutes for June 27, 2013 were approved with minor corrections.

Announcements/Good Works: ASEC commended the academic staff of the School of Education’s Media, Educational Resources, and Information Technology (MERIT) for their Knitten Mittens project. Individuals are invited to come to MERIT, room 301 Teacher Education between 12:00-1:00 on Mondays to help knit 25 pairs of mittens for donation to the Madison public schools. ASEC also recognized the Districting and Representation Committee for their work in improving the online process used to assign academic staff to districts.

Assembly Standing Committee Chair Reports

Districting and Representation Committee – Gene Masters/Brian Dieth: The online system is now generating WiscLists for all districts enabling DRC to move the maintenance of the lists to the office of the Secretary of the Academic Staff. ASEC and Gene then discussed the potential of reviewing and possibly revising districting guidelines in the current year.

General Reports

Chair – Heather McFadden: Heather reported on information from Darrell Bazzell in which he indicated that the pay increase will be provided as an across the board 1%. New programs on awareness of sexual assault and alcohol consumption are being presented to incoming students. The search for the Secretary of the Academic Staff is proceeding.

Interim Secretary of the Academic Staff – Jo Ann Carr: The office is developing materials for the new secretary and finalizing the Assembly handbook. They have received three pending appeals and one formal appeal.


The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.