L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEIC)

This page contains information about the L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee, including members, goals, helpful material, and contacts. The L&S DEI Committee is formerly known as the L&S Equity & Diversity Committee.

What is the L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEIC)?: 
The L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee strives to understand and report on the experiences of students, staff and faculty of color, those from historically underrepresented groups, first-generation students and low-income students. The goal: create a welcoming environment for all.

Helpful DEIC Resources/Material: 

Committee Members (Current as of August 2021)

DeVon Wilson (Co-Chair)L&S AdminAdministrationAssociate Dean for DEIAcademic Staff
Lori Lopez (Co-Chair)Communication ArtsSocial SciencesProfessorFaculty
Miranda Weber (Assistant to the Committee)L&S AdminAdministrationAssistant to the Dean's OfficeAcademic Staff
Alisha ArnoldL&S AdminAdministrationHR ManagerAcademic Staff
Eric WilcotsL&S AdminAdministrationDeanFaculty
Erika Marin-SpiottaGeographySocial SciencesProfessorFaculty
Faye LuxPolitical ScienceSocial SciencesDepartment AdminAcademic Staff
Heather SauerAstronomyNatural & Physical Sciences
Student Coordinator
University Staff
Jeff HenriquesPsychologySocial SciencesDistinguished LecturerAcademic Staff
Jennifer HekmanAsian Languages and CulturesSocial SciencesDepartment AdminAcademic Staff
Jose J. MaderaStudent Academic AffairsAdministrationAssistant DeanAcademic Staff
Kristin EschenfelderCDISCDISAssociate DeanFaculty
Lucas ZoetGeoscienceSocial SciencesAssistant ProfessorFaculty
Morris YoungEnglishArts & HumanitiesProfessorFaculty
Michael SwiftComputer SciencesCDISProfessorFaculty
Scott CarterL&S AdminAdministrationDepartment Relations SpecialistAcademic Staff