Recording Course Video in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra

Directions for recording a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session

Instructional Challenge

During remote instruction, students may feel as if they lack a social connection with you. The following instructions are for how to create videos that increase your social presence use of Blackboard Collaborate Ultra within a UW-Madison Canvas course. You can record short lecture content, stories, and interviews and upload them to your Canvas course. These instructions do not extend to the use of Blackboard Collaborate Ultra in MyUW or another external login. Several recordings can be made per session. A separate recording will be created each time you start and stop a recording in a single session.

|

View Screen Shot

BBCU.png

Recording Content

  • Select BB Collaborate Ultra from the course navigation.
  • Select the Create Session button. Enter desired session details and click the Create button.
  • Select Join Session under Event Details.
  • A Start the recording? message will appear in the upper right corner of the screen. When ready to record, click Record.
  • If a pop-up does not appear, select the Open Session Menu in the upper left corner. When ready to record click Start Recording.
  • When ready to stop, select the Open Session Menu icon in the upper left corner and click Stop Recording.
  • The recording may not be available immediately following the end of the session. Blackboard Collaborate Ultra may require a few hours to process the video, depending on the length of the recording.
  • Select Leave session from the Open Session Menu icon when you are done with the session.

Locating Recording

  • Select BB Collaborate Ultra from the course navigation.
  • Select the Open Session Menu icon on the left side of the black bar that says Sessions.
  • Select Recording.
  • The recording may not be available immediately following the end of the session. Blackboard Collaborate Ultra may require a few hours to process the video, depending on the length of the recording.
  • Students can access recordings using these same steps.

Sharing a Recording

  • Select BB Collaborate Ultra from the course navigation.
  • Select the Open Session Menu icon on the left side of the black bar that says Sessions.
  • Select Recordings.
  • Click the Recording Options (circle with three dots) icon on the far right-hand side of the desired recording.
  • Select the Copy link.
  • Protect student privacy by limiting link access to only enrolled students.