DoIT Operational Framework - Section 1.0 - Overview

Section 1 of the Operational Framework

The UW-Madison Division of Information Technology (DoIT) strives for continual service improvement in the operational processes used to support DoIT-managed and monitored services. The overriding goal of the DoIT Operational Framework is to define processes and related standards to ensure best possible operational efficiency, service, and uptime for the services DoIT supports. Currently, the Operational Framework addresses Change Management and Incident Management.

1.1 Process Importance and Risks
1.2 Sources
1.3 Ongoing Process Improvement
1.4 Operational Process Model

Section 1.1 - Process Importance and Risks

Strong standards, processes, and procedures are an integral component of effective operational management. Per the following graphic, process and procedure-related errors are as significant a cause of downtime as system errors.

Gartner Security Conference presentation

Source: Gartner Security Conference presentation, "Operation Zero Downtime," D. Scott, May 2002

Standards, processes, and procedures must be flexible enough to allow DoIT to support institution goals. In developing standard operating procedures, DoIT should endeavor to maintain a balance between the discipline necessary to run efficient, reliable technical operations and the flexibility necessary to meet the varying needs of our service customers.

Section 1.2 - Sources

Sources contributing to the ideas included in the Operational Framework include:

Section 1.3 - Ongoing Process Improvement

These standards, processes, and procedures will always be a work in progress. As tools improve, best practices change, and post-incident reviews illuminate opportunities for improvement, these standards, processes, and procedures will necessarily evolve.

Section 1.4 - Operational Process Model

DoIT uses the ITIL Service Management Lifecycle and its processes as a basis of best practices implemented in the Operational Framework (Figure 1-2).


ITIl Service Management Lifecycle

The ITIL Service Lifecycle consists of five phases:

Execution of this framework and the adoption of components of the IT Service Management life cycle is an ongoing process. The DoIT Operational Framework will continue to evolve as additional phases of the cycle are implemented.

See Also: