This document will discuss the Expired document.
Documents are marked as Expired (e.g. the word Expired appears in red bold in the Title of the document) because Expiration date that was set for that specific document has passed.
The image below shows document 53225 as Expired, even though it is Active.
Another way the Expiration date can be set is by deliberately selecting a date in the past.
As soon as you log into the KB Admin Tools, you can see how many document have already Expired.
Navigation: Documents Tab > Expired link.
The integer within the parentheses represents the number of documents whose Expiration date has passed with the status of 'Active' or 'In Progress.'
Note: The integer in the parentheses does count documents that are being shared with you (e.g owned by other KB groups).
By allowing an Active document to have a passed Expiration date, your audience will no longer be able to access the document on your live Internal /or External sites. However, with the appropriate permissions, the Expired document may still be accessed and/or updated via the KB Admin Tools.
This link will lead you to the Expired Documents screen. You may use the filters (such as Find, Search/Priority, Topic, Status etc.) to narrow down the exact set of Expired Documents you wish to see.
By default the "Group" filter at the top of the screen is set to "All groups." When viewing expired documents with this filter set you will see documents owned by the current group space and also documents shared with the current group space. You may select documents owned by another group space and even choose to extend their expiration date or deactivate them. However, these documents will be treated differently than documents owned by the current group space. See the two following sections.
At the bottom of the Expired Documents screen, under the list of documents whose Expiration Date has passed, are a series of buttons. After checking the boxes of one or a specific set of Expired documents, you may extend the Expiration date to 180 days from today at the touch of a button. The current status of that document will not change after the Expiration Date is extended.
You may select documents owned by another group space, and also click to extend their expiration (when viewing with the "All Group" filter), but only documents owned by your current group will be extended.
Once you click on the Extend Expiration button, you will see a popup confirmation to indicate that it only applies to documents owned by the current group space. Click OK to proceed.
At the bottom of the Expired Documents screen, under the list of Active documents whose Expiration Date has passed, are a series of buttons. After selecting one or a specific set of Expired documents, you may deactivate selected document(s) at the touch of a button. The status of these documents will be changed to Inactive.
Deactivating a document owned by the current group space will set the status to inactive for all groups (if shared with other groups). Deactivating a document owned by other groups will set the status to inactive for the current group space only.
Once you click on the Deactivate button, you will be asked if you are sure if you want to perform this action. Click on OK to proceed.
When you are looking at documents in your KB space that are In Review, In Progress, etc., you may see documents with "[Expired]" after the Title.
The easiest way to see your Expired documents by Status is to go to the Expired Documents screen and use the Status filter. Select a status and make the appropriate adjustments.