

Changes to *Faculty Policies and Procedures* Chapter 6. Amending *FPP* 6.40 Committee for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer People in the University

Change 1: The Committee for GLBTQ People in the University proposes to change the committee's name. This serves to change an out-of-date acronym, put the committee's name in line with standard language used elsewhere on campus, and simplify the full name.

6.40. GAY, LESBIAN, BISEXUAL, TRANSGENDER AND QUEER PEOPLE IN THE UNIVERSITY, COMMITTEE FOR

6.40 LGBTQ+ Committee

Change 2: The committee further proposes a change to *Faculty Policies & Procedures* 6.40 membership for the Dean of Students or designee seat. Traditionally, this seat has been held by a representative of the Gender and Sexuality Campus Center (GSCC). As the GSCC now falls under the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, this seat should be moved to the VCSA's office. Because of the strong partnership that exists between the GSCC and this committee, and in recognition of the value of their contributions, the committee proposes to make the language for this seat explicit to the GSCC and to change to an ex officio, voting position.

In order to balance representation of the ex officio seats' respective populations, the committee further proposes to amend *Faculty Policies & Procedures* 6.40 membership for the other ex officio members.

Accordingly, *Faculty Policies & Procedures* would be amended to continue to exclude ex officio members from co-chairing the committee.

Lastly, the term lengths for the postdoc and student seats have been added and the appointing body has been deleted from the student seats for consistency and to avoid duplication.

A. MEMBERSHIP:

- 1. Five faculty members appointed for three-year terms.
- 2. Two academic staff members appointed for three-year terms.
- 3. Two university staff members appointed for three-year terms.
- 4. One postdoctoral scholar (research associate, postdoctoral fellow, postdoctoral

trainee), appointed by the Office of Postdoctoral Studies (VCRGE) for a one-year term.

5. One graduate and two undergraduate students, appointed for a one-year term by the recognized student governance organization.

6. A representative appointed by the Chief Diversity Officer, ex officio, non-voting.

7. The Dean of Students or a designee appointed by the Dean of Students, ex officio, non-voting. A designee from the gender and sexuality campus center appointed by the Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs, ex officio, voting.

8. The Director of the LGBT Studies certificate, ex officio, non-voting.

9. The chair shall be elected from among the faculty members appointed pursuant to section A.1. Any voting member, excluding ex officio voting members, of the committee may be appointed to serve as co-chair.