

Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Annual Report for 2016-2018

I. **Functions**

The functions of the committee are to serve as the review committee for nonrenewal appeals pursuant to *Faculty Policies and Procedures (FPP)* 7.10.; to serve as the hearing committee for appeals in discipline and dismissal cases in accordance with the provisions of *FPP* Chapter 9; and to serve as the hearing committee in cases of layoff due to financial emergency pursuant to *FPP* Chapter 10.

II. Committee Activities

2016-2017 Committee Activities

The 2016-17 Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (CFRR) met eight times to consider three appeals of nonrenewal decisions. In the first of these, the CFRR found that the nonrenewal decision was based to a significant degree upon impermissible factors and/or improper procedure with material prejudice to the assistant professor and requested that the University Committee appoint a de novo review committee per FPP 7.10.C. (The University Committee appointed an ad hoc de novo review committee for this case in March 2017. In May 2017, the de novo committee decided unanimously that the assistant professor had not met the standard for tenure and promotion and did not recommend that the dean consider the case for tenure. The appellant requested reconsideration of the ad hoc committee's decision in June 2017. The ad hoc committee was dismissed in September 2017 when the appellant reached a separation agreement with the provost.)

In the second case of this term, the CFRR found no evidence that proper and accepted procedures were not followed or that the nonrenewal decision was unfounded or arbitrary. By a vote of 8-0, the CFRR thus found the appellant had not met the burdens of presentation and proof to substantiate their claims and dismissed the appeal without prejudice.

In the final case of this term, the CFRR found that the nonrenewal decision was based to a significant degree upon impermissible factors and/or improper procedures with material prejudice to the assistant professor and requested that the University Committee appoint a de novo review committee. (The University Committee appointed an ad hoc de novo review committee for this case in August 2017. In December 2017, despite serious reservations about the department itself, the de novo committee voted 5-0 not to recommend promotion, based on a consideration of the dossier itself. The appellant requested reconsideration of the ad hoc committee's decision in February 2018 and in March 2018, the committee voted 3-2 to uphold its earlier decision.)

2017-2018 Committee Activities

The 2017-18 Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (CFRR) met three times to consider two cases. The first of these was the appeal of a departmental nonrenewal decision. In this case, the CFRR found that the nonrenewal decision was based to a significant degree upon impermissible factors and/or improper procedure with material prejudice to the assistant professor and requested that the University Committee appoint an ad hoc de novo review committee. (The University Committee appointed an ad hoc de novo review committee for this case in November 2017. In February 2018, the committee voted 5-0 to advance the case to the dean for divisional committee

consideration. Later that semester, the divisional committee recommended tenure and promotion and the dean agreed.)

The second case this term was the appeal of the decision of an ad hoc de novo review committee from the previous year. In April 2018, the CFRR voted 7-0, in light of procedural irregularities, to grant the remedy requested by the appellant and, per FPP 7.10.C., requested that the University Committee appoint an ad hoc de novo review committee. This committee was charged in June 2018 and is ongoing.)

III. Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Membership

2016-17 Committee Membership

Howard Schweber (Political Science) *Chair* Corinna Burger (Neurology) J. Michal Collins (SOHE) Irwin Goldman (Horticulture) Susan Lederer (History of Medicine) Gloria Mari-Beffa (Mathematics) Steven Nadler (Philosophy) Pilar Ossorio (Law) Jennifer Reed (Chemical & Biological Eng)

2017-18 Committee Membership

Irwin Goldman (Horticulture) Chair Corinna Burger (Neurology) Mary Halloran (Zoology) Susan Lederer (History of Medicine) Gloria Mari-Beffa (Mathematics) Steven Nadler (Philosophy) Adam Nelson (Educational Policy Studies) Pilar Ossorio (Law) Jennifer Reed (Chemical & Biological Eng)