FACULTY SENATE MINUTES 03 April 2017

Chancellor Rebecca Blank called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m. with 140 voting members present (110 needed for quorum). Memorial resolutions were offered for Professor Emeritus Harald Næss (Faculty Document 2674) and Professor Emerita Dorothy Pringle (Faculty Document 2675). Chancellor Blank presided over the presentation of the 2016-2017 Hilldale Awards. The recipients are: Arts and Humanities Division: Henry John Drewal (Art History and Afro-American Studies), Biological Sciences Division: Kenneth Raffa (Entomology), Physical Sciences Division: John W. Valley (Geoscience), Social Sciences Division: David Weimer (Political Science and Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs).

Chancellor Blank announced the opening of faculty elections to committees and encouraged everyone to vote. She also provided updates on the federal and state budget processes, lobbying and informational events with the state legislature and across the state, the upcoming audit of campuses' relations with foundations, and possible concealed carry legislation. Blank also welcomed the new dean of the Wisconsin School of Business and two new Regents, one of whom is a Madison alum. She concluded by noting that our campus post-tenure review policy would be considered by the Board of Regents later in the week. There were no questions or comments. The minutes of the meeting of March 6, 2017, were <u>approved</u> with amendment.

Associate Professor Alan Rubel (School of Library and Information Studies) <u>presented</u> a proposal to change the name of the School of Library and Information Studies to the Information School (Faculty Document 2676). There were several questions and comments, one seeking clarification of the use of the term "information" and the others in support of the proposal.

Professor Chad Goldberg (Sociology, District 71) <u>moved</u> adoption of a resolution calling for fair and equitable pay for Faculty Assistants (Faculty Document 2677). The motion was <u>seconded</u>. Several people including faculty members, Faculty Assistants, and one graduate student, spoke to the motion. Prof. Goldberg <u>called the question</u>. The motion to call the question <u>passed</u> by voice vote. The resolution <u>passed</u> by voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 p.m.

Atur A. Amitte

Steven K. Smith Secretary of the Faculty