

## Proposal to Change the Name of the Social Studies Division to the Social Sciences Division

To reflect current usage at UW-Madison and at the overwhelming majority of other universities, the Social Studies Division will be renamed the Social Sciences Division. The University Committee endorses this name change and the subsequent updates *to Faculty Policies and Procedures* listed below.

The faculty divisions as we know them were first proposed by the University Committee in March 1942 in response to UW President Dykstra's suggestion to reorganize a faculty that had grown in size and complexity. The UC's report on this issue referred to the problem of giving coherence to undergraduate education and to the need to provide coordination in curriculum to avoid duplicating courses and subjects in different colleges. The UC report offers no specific explanation for why the division was called "Social Studies" and not "Social Sciences," but there are hints in the assignment of departments and schools to the four divisions. The range of departments embraced by Social Studies, including Law, Commerce, Economics, Psychology, Geography, and Sociology and Anthropology, suggests the inclusion of disciplines that would not have necessarily seen themselves as sciences at that time. Even more illuminating was the inclusion of two other departments, History and Philosophy, in the Social Studies division. In fact, those two departments were the only ones designated for two divisions, also being assigned to Humanities (changed to Arts and Humanities in 2000). The inclusion of Philosophy in Social Studies is mystifying, and must not have lasted very long beyond 1942. On the other hand, History's inclusion is more easily comprehended, and perhaps offers a hint to the choice of the division's name. During the mid-20th century the discipline of history was embroiled in a dispute over methodological issues that were partially political in nature. UW's History Department was right in the middle of this dispute, which involved the reorientation of the discipline away from its traditional focus on great leaders and the rise and fall of states and empires, and toward social history. The argument over the methods and functions of the new social history, which in part was an argument over how "scientific" the methods of historical scholarship should be, ran right through the History department.

## 4.01. ESTABLISHMENT OF DIVISIONS.

- A. There shall be four faculty divisions:
  - 1. Biological Sciences.
  - 2. Arts and Humanities.
  - 3. Physical Sciences.
  - 4. Social Studies Sciences.

## 6.32. COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES.

- A. MEMBERSHIP. The Committee on Committees shall consist of the following members:
  - 1. Ten members: four elected by the Faculty Senate from the current membership of the senate (one from each faculty division); two appointed by and from the University Committee; and one member from each faculty division appointed by the respective divisional executive committees.
  - 2. The members elected by the Faculty Senate shall serve four-year terms which may extend beyond their terms in the senate.
  - 3. The members from the University Committee shall serve one-year terms and may be reappointed.
  - 4. The members appointed by the divisional executive committees shall serve four-year terms. Members from the Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Studies Sciences Divisions shall be appointed in sequential years. Appointments for the following year shall be submitted by February 1.