

# Committee on Committees Annual Report for 2016: Nominations for Faculty-Elected Committees

The Committee on Committees offers the following nominations for 4 faculty-elected committees for terms beginning in 2016-2017. Any member of the faculty may make additional nominations from the floor at the senate meeting on 1 February 2016. The election will be held electronically April 4 until midnight April 17.

Commission on Faculty Compensation and Economic Benefits (*FPP* 6.34.) Represents the faculty in salary and economic benefits issues in discussions, hearings, and other appropriate settings. <u>Three faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms.</u> No more than 3 members shall be from a single faculty division, and at least 2 members must be non-tenured at the time of their election.

## Candidates:

- Vaishali Bakshi (SMPH/Psychiatry/Biological Sciences
- Bruce Thomadsen (SMPH/Medical Physics/Biological Sciences)

-----

- Amir Assadi (L&S/Mathematics/Physical Sciences)
- Laura Albert McLay (ENG/Industrial & Systems Engineering/Physical Sciences)
- Rich Halverson (ED/Educational Leadership & Policy Analysis/Social Studies)
- Jason Yackee (LAW/Law/Social Studies: Non-tenured on his election in 2014)

Continuing members by division (term ends/department):

Arts and Humanities (3): Julie Allen (2017/Scandinavian Studies)

Daniel Grabois (2018/Music) Laura McClure (2018/Classics)

Biological Sciences (0): --

Physical Sciences (1): Randolph Ashton (2017/Biomedical Engineering: non-tenured)

Social Studies (2): Carolyn Kelley (2018/ELPA)

Jessica Weeks (2017/Political Science)

Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (*FPP* 6.38.) Serves as the appeal body for faculty nonrenewal decisions and functions in accordance with rules of the board of regents and of the faculty in cases of recommendation for discipline and dismissal of faculty members. Three <u>faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms.</u> At least 1 and no more than 3 members shall be from a single faculty division.

#### Candidates:

- Sue Coppersmith (L&S/Genetics/Physical Sciences)
- Pilar Ossario (LAW/Law/Social Studies)
- Ananth Seshadri (L&S/Economics/Social Studies)
- To be announced in March
- To be announced in March
- To be announced in March

Continuing members by division (term ends/department):

Arts and Humanities (2): J. Michael Collins (2017/Consumer Science)

Susan Lederer (2017/Medical History & Bioethics)

Biological Sciences (2): Corinna Burger (2018/Neurology)

(continued)

Irwin Goldman (2018/Horticulture)

Jennie Reed (2018/Chemical & Biological Engineering) Physical Sciences (1):

Social Studies (1): Howard Schweber (2017/Political Science)

**Library Committee** (FPP 6.46.) Serves as the faculty advisory body for policy and planning for libraries throughout the university, including the General Library System. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve 4-year terms. The committee shall have 8 faculty members with 2 from each division. One faculty member from the arts and humanities division and 1 faculty member from the physical sciences division must be elected.

### Candidates:

Matthew Bakkom (ED/Art/Arts and Humanities) Sarah Thal (L&S/History/Arts and Humanities

Catherine Arnott Smith (L&S/Library & Information Studies/Social Studies) Christopher Wells (L&S/Journalism & Mass Communication/Social Studies

# Continuing members by division (term ends/department):

Arts and Humanities (1): Sabine Gross (2019/German) Biological Sciences (2): Cecile Ane (2018/Botany)

Eneida Mendonca (2018/Biostatistics & Medical Informatics)

Yang Bai (2019/Physics) Physical Sciences (2):

Daniel Klingenberg (2017/Chemical & Biological Engineering)

Kyung-Sun Kim (2017/Library & Information Studies) Social Studies (1):

University Committee (Faculty Policies and Procedures 6.54.) Serves as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate, represents the faculty in major policy matters, and serves as the faculty's grievance committee except for matters within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms. No more than 3 members shall be from a single school or college, and at least 1 member shall be from each faculty division.

#### Candidates:

- Rick Amasino (CALS/Biochemistry and WI Energy Inst./Social Studies)
- Barbara Bowers (NUR/Social Studies)
- Jane Collins (CALS/Community & Environmental Sociology/Social Studies)
- To be announced in March

# Continuing members by division and school (term ends/department):

Arts and Humanities; Letters & Science Thomas Broman (2017/History of Science)

Anja Wanner (2018/English)

Ruth Litovsky (2018/Comm Sci & Disorders) Biological Sciences; Letters & Science:

Physical Sciences; Engineering: Amy Wendt (2017/Electrical & Computer Eng)

Social Studies:

## **2015-2016** Committee on Committees

Patti Brennan, Nursing (chair) Michael Gould, Oncology

Judith Burstyn, Chemistry Ruth Litovsky, University Comm rep

Ivy Corfis, Spanish and Portuguese Laura McClure, Classics Noah Weeth Feinstein Brian Yandell, Horticulture

UW-Madison Fac Doc 2600 - 1 February 2016