# Committee on Committees Annual Report on Nominations for Faculty-Elected Committees

The Committee on Committees offers the following nominations for faculty-elected committees for terms beginning in 2014-2014. Any member of the faculty may make additional nominations from the floor at the senate meeting on 7 April 2014. If there are nominations from the floor, a primary election will be held with ballots due in mid-April early for those committees having more than twice as many nominees as vacant positions. If there are no nominations from the floor, the ballot for each committee shall list the slate of nominees as presented herein. A list of UW-Madison committees and committee rosters is available at the following web site: www.secfac.wisc.edu/committees/.

Commission on Faculty Compensation and Economic Benefits (5 vacancies)
Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (3 vacancies)
<u>Library Committee</u> (2 vacancies)
<u>University Committee</u> (2 vacancies)

- Vote electronically on the Secretary of the Faculty website: <a href="https://www.secfac.wisc.edu/elections/">https://www.secfac.wisc.edu/elections/</a>
- Election period: April 7 (3:00 pm)-April 21, 2014 (midnight)
- Election results will be posted on the election web site by Friday, April 25

# COMMISSION ON FACULTY COMPENSATION AND ECONOMIC BENEFITS

(*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.34.**) Represents the faculty in salary and economic benefits issues in discussions, hearings, and other appropriate settings. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms, and 2 faculty members are be elected to serve a one-year term. No more than 3 members shall be from a single faculty division, and at least 2 members must be non-tenured at the time of their election. The 5 continuing faculty members include 1 from the arts and humanities division, 1 from the biological sciences division, 1 from the physical sciences division, and 2 from the social studies division (and 1 non-tenured).

Continuing members:	Term Ends
Dominique Brossard, Professor, Life Sciences Communication, Biological Sci Div	2016
Anna Haley-Lock, Assistant Professor, Social Work, Social Studies Division	2015
Robert Hamers, Professor, Chemistry, Physical Sciences Division	2016
James Sweet, Professor, History, Social Studies Division	2016
Margarita Zamora, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese, Arts and Humanities Div	2015

# Nominees:

JULIE ALLEN — Professor, Scandinavian Studies // Arts & Humanities Division.

**RANDOLPH ASHTON** — Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering // Physical Sciences Division.

**AMIT GANDHI** — Associate Professor, Economics // Social Studies Division.

**CHRISTOPHER LIVANOS** — Associate Professor, Comparative Literature // Arts & Humanities Division.

**KURT PAULSEN** — Associate Professor, Urban and Regional Planning (CALS) // Social Studies Division.

**DAVID THOMAS** — Professor, Animal Science // Biological Sciences Division.

**BARRY VAN VEEN** — Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering // Physical Sciences Division.

**JESSICA WEEKS** — Assistant Professor, Political Science // no divisional affiliation.

**JASON YACKEE** — Associate Professor, Law // Social Studies Division.

#### COMMITTEE ON FACULTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

(*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.38.**) Serves as the appeal body for faculty nonrenewal decisions and functions in accordance with rules of the board of regents and of the faculty in cases of recommendation for discipline and dismissal of faculty members. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms. At least 1 and no more than 3 members shall be from a single faculty division. The 6 continuing faculty members include 1 from the arts and humanities division, 3 from the biological sciences division, 1 from the physical sciences division, and 1 from the social studies division.

Continuing members:	Term Ends
Nancy Kendall, Professor, Educational and Policy Studies, Social Studies Division	2016
Caroline Levine, Professor, English, Arts and Humanities Division	2016
Douglas Maynard, Professor, Sociology, Social Studies Division	2015
Patricia McManus, Professor, Plant Pathology, Biological Sciences Division	2015
Kirsten Wolf, Professor, Scandinavian Studies, Arts and Humanities Division	2015

#### Nominees:

**BARON CHANDA** — Associate Professor, Neuroscience // Biological Sciences Division.

**HERBERT CHEN** — Professor, Surgery // Biological Sciences Division.

**J. MICHAEL COLLINS** — Associate Professor, Human Ecology // Social Studies Division. Also in the School of Human Ecology, Dept. of Consumer Science and La Follette School of Public Affairs in Letters and Science. Faculty Director, Center for Financial Security.

**SUSAN LEDERER** — Professor, Medical History and Bioethics // Arts & Humanities Division.

MICHAEL PLESHA — Professor, Engineering Physics // Physical Sciences Division

HOWARD SCHWEBER — Professor, Political Science // Social Studies Division

## LIBRARY COMMITTEE

(*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.46.**) The committee serves as the faculty advisory body for policy and planning for libraries throughout the university, including the General Library System. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve 4-year terms. The committee shall have 8 faculty members with 2 from each faculty division. The 6 continuing faculty members include 2 from the arts and humanities division, 2 from the biological sciences division, 1 from the physical sciences division, and 1 from the social studies division.

Continuing members: Te	rm Ends
Karen Britland, Professor, English, Arts and Humanities Division	2015
Karl Broman, Professor, Biostatistics and Medical Informatics, Biological Sciences Div.	2015
Kyung-Sun Kim, Professor, Library and Information Studies, Social Studies Div	2017
Daniel Klingenberg, Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering, Physical Sci Div	2017
Larry Nesper, Professor, Anthropology, Social Studies Division	2016
Mary Trotter, Associate Professor, Theatre and Drama, Arts and Humanities	2016

## Nominees:

**CECILE ANE** — Associate Professor, Botany and Statistics // Biological Sciences Division

**DUNCAN CARLSMITH** — Professor, Physics // Physical Sciences Division

**DANTE FRATTA** — Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering // Physical Sciences Division **ENEIDA MENDONCA** — Professor, Biostatistics & Medical Informatics // Biological Sciences Division

## **UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE**

(*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.54.**) Serves as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate, represents the faculty in major policy matters, and serves as the faculty's grievance committee except for matters within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve 3-year terms. No more than 3 members shall be from a single school or college, and at least 1 member shall be from each faculty division. Of the 4 continuing members, 1 is from the arts and humanities division, 1 is from the biological sciences division, and 1 is from the physical sciences division; school/college representation of the continuing members is: 2 from the College of Letters and Science, 1 from Engineering, and 1 from Education.

Continuing members:	erm Ends
Jo Ellen Fair, professor, Journalism and Mass Communication (L&S), Arts & Hum Div	2015
Dorothy Farrar-Edwards, professor, Kinesiology, Social Studies Division	2016
M. Elizabeth Meyerand, professor, Biomedical Engineering, Biological Sciences Div	2016
Grant Petty, professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (L&S), Physical Sci Div	2015

# Nominees:

**THOMAS BROMAN** — Professor, History of Science // Arts & Humanities Division.

**AMY CHARKOWSKI** — Professor, Plant Pathology // biological sciences.

**JOSEPH KEMNITZ** — Professor, Cell & Regenerative Biology // Biological Sciences Division.

**AMY WENDT** — Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering // Physical Sciences Division.