## COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES ANNUAL REPORT ON NOMINATIONS FOR FACULTY-ELECTED COMMITTEES

The Committee on Committees offers the following nominations for faculty-elected committees for terms beginning in 2013-14. Any member of the faculty may make additional nominations from the floor at the senate meeting on 4 February 2013. If there are nominations from the floor, a primary election will be held with ballots due in early March for those committees having more than twice as many nominees as vacant positions. A list of UW-Madison committees and committee rosters is available at the following web site: www.secfac.wisc.edu/committees/.

If there are no nominations from the floor, the ballot for each committee shall list the slate of nominees as presented herein. Web-based voting information will be sent to all members of the faculty, with elections closing in April.

COMMISSION ON FACULTY COMPENSATION AND ECONOMIC BENEFITS (Faculty Policies

and Procedures 6.34.) The function of the commission is to represent the faculty in salary and economic benefits issues in discussions, hearings, and other appropriate settings. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms, and one faculty member is to be elected to serve a one-year term. No more than three members shall be from a single faculty division, and at least two members must be non-tenured at the time of their election. The five continuing faculty members include one from the arts and humanities division, one from the biological sciences division, one from the physical sciences division, and two from the social studies division.

Dominique Brossard, Life Sciences Communication (CALS), social studies Robert Hamers, Chemistry (L&S), physical sciences Carolyn Kelley, Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis (EDUC), social studies Eric Raimy, English (L&S), arts and humanities Pamela Ruegg, Dairy Science (CALS), biological sciences Donald Stone, Materials Science and Engineering (ENGR), physical sciences James Sweet, History (L&S), arts and humanities Kenneth Sytsma, Botany (L&S), biological sciences

## COMMITTEE ON FACULTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES (Faculty Policies and Procedures

**6.38.)** The committee serves as the appeal body for faculty nonrenewal decisions and functions in accordance with rules of the board of regents and of the faculty in cases of recommendation for discipline and dismissal of faculty members. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms. At least one and no more than three members shall be from a single faculty division. The six continuing faculty members include one from the arts and humanities division, three from the biological sciences division, one from the physical sciences division, and one from the social studies division. *No additional faculty members from the biological sciences division may be elected.* 

David Bohnhoff, Biological Systems Engineering (CALS), physical sciences Susan Coppersmith, Physics (L&S), physical sciences Gary Green, Community and Environmental Sociology (CALS), social studies Stephen Kantrowitz, History (L&S), arts and humanities Nancy Kendall, Educational Policy Studies (EDUC), social studies Caroline Levine, English (L&S), arts and humanities

**LIBRARY COMMITTEE** (Faculty Policies and Procedures 6.46.) The committee serves as the faculty advisory body for policy and planning for libraries throughout the university, including the General Library System. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve four-year terms. The committee shall have eight faculty members with two from each division. The six continuing faculty members include two from the arts and humanities division, two from the biological sciences division, one from the physical sciences division, and one from the social studies division. One faculty member from the physical sciences division and one faculty member from the social studies division must be elected.

Kyung-Sun Kim, Library and Information Studies (L&S), social studies Daniel Klingenberg, Chemical and Biological Engineering (ENGR), physical sciences Douglas Soldat, Soil Science (CALS), physical sciences Lyn Van Swol, Communication Arts (L&S), social studies

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE (Faculty Policies and Procedures 6.54.) The committee serves as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate, represents the faculty in major policy matters, and serves as the faculty's grievance committee except for matters within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms. No more than three members shall be from a single school or college, and at least one member shall be from each faculty division. Of the four continuing faculty members, two are from the arts and humanities division, one is from the biological sciences division, and one is from the physical sciences division; school/college representation of the continuing members is: one from the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, and three from the College of Letters and Science. At least one faculty member from the social studies division must be elected. No additional faculty members from the College of Letters and Science may be elected.

Dorothy Farrar-Edwards, Kinesiology (EDUC), social studies Michael Gould, Oncology (SMPH), biological sciences M. Elizabeth Meyerand, Medical Physics (SMPH), biological sciences Dietram Scheufele, Life Sciences Communication (CALS), social studies

## 2012-13 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIP

Ivy Corfis, Spanish and Portuguese Jo Ellen Fair, University Committee representative Maribeth Gettinger, Educational Psychology Mary Elizabeth Graue, Curriculum and Instruction Nancy Mathews, Environmental Studies Stephen Nelsen, Chemistry Philip O'Leary (chair), Engineering Professional Development Dietram Scheufele, University Committee representative Karl Shoemaker, History William Tracy, Agronomy