COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES ANNUAL REPORT ON NOMINATIONS FOR FACULTY-ELECTED COMMITTEES

The Committee on Committees offers the following nominations for faculty-elected committees for terms beginning in 2012-13. Any member of the faculty may make additional nominations from the floor at the senate meeting on 6 February 2012. If there are nominations from the floor, a primary election will be held with ballots due in early March for those committees having more than twice as many nominees as vacant positions. A list of UW-Madison committees and committee rosters is available at the following web site: www.secfac.wisc.edu/committees/.

If there are no nominations from the floor, the ballot for each committee shall list the slate of nominees as presented herein. Web-based voting information will be sent to all members of the faculty, with elections closing in April.

COMMISSION ON FACULTY COMPENSATION AND ECONOMIC BENEFITS (Faculty Policies

and Procedures **6.34.**) The function of the commission is to represent the faculty in salary and economic benefits issues in discussions, hearings, and other appropriate settings. <u>Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms</u>, and one faculty member is to be elected to serve a two-year term. No more than three members shall be from a single faculty division, and at least two members must be non-tenured at the time of their election. The five continuing faculty members include two from the arts and humanities division, one from the biological sciences division, and two from the social studies division. *At least one non-tenured faculty member must be elected*.

Louis Armentano, Dairy Science (CALS), biological sciences Thomas Givnish, Botany (L&S), biological sciences Anna Haley-Lock, Social Work (L&S), social studies; non-tenured Rafael Lazimy, Business (BUS), social studies Douglas Rosenberg, Art (EDUC), arts and humanities James Tinjum, Engineering Professional Development (ENGR), physical sciences; non-tenured Margarita Zamora, Spanish and Portuguese (L&S), arts and humanities David Zimmerman, English (L&S), arts and humanities

COMMITTEE ON FACULTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES (Faculty Policies and Procedures

6.38.) The committee serves as the appeal body for faculty nonrenewal decisions and functions in accordance with rules of the board of regents and of the faculty in cases of recommendation for discipline and dismissal of faculty members. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms. At least one and no more than three members shall be from a single faculty division. The six continuing faculty members include one from the arts and humanities division, two from the biological sciences division, two from the physical sciences division, and one from the social studies division.

Douglas Maynard, Sociology (L&S), social studies Patricia McManus, Plant Pathology (CALS), biological sciences James Steele, Food Science (CALS), biological sciences Kenneth Sytsma, Botany (L&S), biological sciences Douglas Wiegmann, Industrial and Systems Engineering (ENGR), physical sciences Kirsten Wolf, Scandinavian Studies (L&S), arts and humanities **LIBRARY COMMITTEE** (*Faculty Policies and Procedures* 6.46.) The committee serves as the faculty advisory body for policy and planning for libraries throughout the university, including the General Library System. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve four-year terms. The committee must have eight faculty members with two from each division. The six continuing faculty members include one from the arts and humanities division, two from the biological sciences division, two from the physical sciences division, and one from the social studies division. *One faculty member from the arts and humanities division and one faculty member from the social studies division must be elected*.

Steven Barkan, Law (LAW), social studies Andrea Harris, Dance (EDUC), arts and humanities Larry Nesper, Anthropology (L&S), social studies Mary Trotter, Theatre and Drama (L&S), arts and humanities

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE (*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.54.**) The committee serves as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate, represents the faculty in major policy matters, and serves as the faculty's grievance committee except for matters within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms, and one faculty member is to be elected to serve a one-year term. No more than three members shall be from a single school or college, and at least one member shall be from each faculty division. Of the three continuing faculty members, one is from the arts and humanities division and two are from the biological sciences division; school/college representation of the continuing members is: one from the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, one from the College of Letters and Science, and one from the School of Medicine and Public Health. At least one faculty member from the physical sciences division and at least one faculty member from the social studies division must be elected.

Thomas Broman, History of Science (L&S), arts and humanities Jo Ellen Fair, Journalism and Mass Communication (L&S), arts and humanities Grant Petty, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (L&S), physical sciences Parameswaran Ramanathan, Electrical and Computer Engineering (ENGR), physical sciences Dietram Scheufele, Life Sciences Communication (CALS), social studies John Sharpless, History (L&S), social studies

2011-12 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIP

Michael Bernard-Donals, English Thomas Broman, History of Science Mark Cook, Animal Sciences Maribeth Gettinger, Educational Psychology Mary Elizabeth Graue, Curriculum and Instruction Bret Larget, Botany Brent McCown, Horticulture Stephen Nelsen, Chemistry Philip O'Leary (chair), Engineering Professional Development Karl Shoemaker, History