FACULTY SENATE MEETING Monday, 4 April 2011 - 3:30 p.m. 272 Bascom Hall

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by Chancellor Biddy Martin at 3:32 p.m. with 158 voting members present.

1.	Memorial resolutions were presented for:	Doc. No.
	Professor Emeritus M. Vere DeVault	2253
	Professor Emeritus Henry A. Lardy	2255
	Professor Emeritus Benjamin Bruce Marsh	2256
	Professor Emeritus Donald Neal McIsaac Jr.	2257
	Professor Emerita Agatha A. Norton	2258
	Professor Emeritus Sheldon David Rose	2259
	Professor Emeritus Jesse C. Saemann Jr.	2260

- Chancellor Martin presided over the presentation of the 2010-2011 Hilldale Awards. The recipients are: Arts and Humanities Division: Claudia F. Card (Philosophy); Biological Sciences Division: Bruce S. Klein (Pediatrics); Physical Sciences Division: Max G. Lagally (Materials Science and Engineering); Social Studies Division: Marsha Malick Seltzer (Social Work).
- 3. Announcements/Informational Items.

Professor Judith Burstyn spoke about activities the University Committee is undertaking concerning the efficiency initiative with Huron Consulting Group, and the impacts of the state budget bill on UW-Madison and its proposal for public authority status of UW-Madison independent from UW System.

Professor Burstyn reminded senators that the secure web-based elections for elected faculty committees would remain open through Friday, 8 April and urged senators to encourage their departmental faculty to vote.

4. Question Period.

Chancellor Martin called attention to a handout distributed at the door, which included a question from Associate Professor Mark Albertini (District 89) regarding the handling of fringe benefits from federal grants.

Vice Chancellor for Administration Darrell Bazzell responded to a follow-up question on the matter from Professor Janet Mertz (District 93).

AUTOMATIC CONSENT BUSINESS

5. The minutes of 7 March 2011 were approved as distributed.

REPORTS

6. Vice Provost Damon Williams <u>submitted</u> for informational purposes the Campus Diversity 2261 and Climate Committee Annual Report for 2009-2010.

There were no questions or comments.

<u>REPORTS</u>, cont'd

7. Professor Carl Sovinec <u>submitted</u> for informational purposes the Officer Education Committee 2262 Annual Report for 2010-2011.

There were no questions or comments.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

8. Professor Julie Mitchell <u>moved to adopt</u> the Department of Mathematics' Resolution on 2252a Problems Caused by Recent U.S. Immigration Practices.

The motion was seconded.

There was one question and one comment.

The motion <u>passed</u> without negative vote.

NEW BUSINESS

9. Professor Burstyn <u>moved to adopt</u> the Resolution in Support of Academic Freedom presented 2264 in Faculty Document 2264, which was distributed at the door.

There was significant discussion of the resolution.

Professor Patricia Loew (District 3) <u>moved to amend</u> the resolution by striking from the third to the last paragraph the phrase "to reconsider the institution's position for responding to open records requests;".

The motion to amend was seconded.

The motion to amend passed.

The amended resolution <u>passed</u> without negative vote.

10. Chancellor Martin announced that pursuant to *Faculty Policies and Procedures* 2.08.B., the discussion of fiscal models for the proposed public authority, and institutional governance and the proposed board of trustees, would be discussed in a Committee of the Whole. The chancellor recognized Professor Burstyn, who <u>moved to convene</u> in a Committee of the Whole and that the discussion end no later than 5:30 p.m.

The motion was seconded and <u>passed</u> without negative vote.

At 5:34 p.m., the committee rose and reported.

The meeting adjourned at 5:34 p.m.

David Musolf Secretary of the Faculty