## COMMITTEE ON FACULTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2009-2010

## I. Functions

The functions of the committee are to serve as the review committee for nonrenewal appeals pursuant to *Faculty Policies and Procedures (FPP)* 7.10.; to serve as the hearing committee for appeals in discipline and dismissal cases in accordance with the provisions of *FPP* Chapter 9; and to serve as the hearing committee in cases of layoff due to financial emergency pursuant to *FPP* Chapter 10.

## II. 2009-2010 Committee Activities

The 2009-2010 Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (CFRR) met five times to consider three appeals of nonrenewal decisions.

In the first nonrenewal appeal, the committee voted to dismiss the appeal, with prejudice, on the grounds that it was not filed within the 20-day submission period provided by Faculty Policies and Procedures 7.10.A., Appeal of a Nonrenewal Decision.

In the second nonrenewal appeal, the committee voted to support the appeal, and pursuant to FPP 7.10.C. directed that the University Committee appoint an *ad hoc* tenure review committee to conduct a *de novo* review of the faculty member's qualifications for tenure. The result of that process was a positive recommendation for promotion to associate professor with tenure by the *ad hoc* committee. That recommendation was supported by the divisional committee and the dean. The faculty member was granted tenure by the board of regents.

In the third nonrenewal appeal, the committee voted to support the appeal, and pursuant to FPP 7.10.C. directed that the University Committee appoint an *ad hoc* tenure review committee to conduct a *de novo* review of the faculty member's qualifications for tenure. Prior to the appointment of the *ad hoc* tenure review committee, the probationary faculty member transferred to another department, which later recommended that the faculty member be promoted to associate professor with tenure. That recommendation was supported by the divisional committee and the dean. The faculty member was granted tenure by the board of regents.

## III. 2009-2010 Committee Membership

Richard Monette (Law)
Lynn Nyhart (History of Science)
George Phillips (Biochemistry)
Parameswaran Ramanathan (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Howard Schweber, chair (Political Science)
Hans Sollinger (Surgery)
Karen Steudel (Zoology)
Julie Washington (Communicative Disorders)
Tom Yin (Physiology)