COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES ANNUAL REPORT ON NOMINATIONS FOR FACULTY-ELECTED COMMITTEES

The Committee on Committees offers the following nominations for faculty-elected committees for terms beginning in 2011-12. Any member of the faculty may make additional nominations from the floor at the senate meeting on 7 February 2011. If there are nominations from the floor, a primary election will be held with ballots due in early March for those committees having more than twice as many nominees as vacant positions. A list of UW-Madison committees and committee rosters is available at the following web site: www.secfac.wisc.edu/committees/.

If there are no nominations from the floor, the ballot for each committee shall list the slate of nominees as presented herein. Web-based voting information will be sent to all members of the faculty, with elections closing in April.

COMMISSION ON FACULTY COMPENSATION AND ECONOMIC BENEFITS (Faculty Policies

and Procedures 6.34.) The function of the commission is to represent the faculty in salary and economic benefits issues in discussions, hearings, and other appropriate settings. <u>Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms.</u> No more than three members shall be from a single faculty division, and at least two members must be non-tenured at the time of their election. The six continuing faculty members include two from the arts and humanities division, one from the biological sciences division, one from the physical sciences division, and two from the social studies division. *At least two non-tenured faculty members must be elected*.

Chess Adams, Surgical Sciences (VET), biological sciences Jeffrey Beneker, Classics (L&S), arts and humanities; non-tenured Jo Ellen Fair, Journalism and Mass Communication (L&S), arts and humanities Darian Ibrahim, Law (LAW), social studies; non-tenured Mary Triana, Business (BUS), social studies; non-tenured one additional nominee to be announced

COMMITTEE ON FACULTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES (Faculty Policies and

Procedures 6.38.) The committee serves as the appeal body for faculty nonrenewal decisions and functions in accordance with rules of the board of regents and of the faculty in cases of recommendation for discipline and dismissal of faculty members. Three faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms, and <u>one faculty member is to be elected to serve a one-year term</u>. At least one and no more than three members shall be from a single faculty division. The five continuing faculty members include two from the arts and humanities division, two from the physical sciences division, and one from the social studies division. *At least one faculty member from the biological sciences division must be elected*.

Jean Bahr, Geoscience (L&S), physical sciences Bernadette Baker, Curriculum and Instruction (EDUC), social studies William Boissonnault, Orthopedics and Rehabilitation (SMPH), biological sciences Eric Raimy, English (L&S), arts and humanities Majid Sarmadi, Human Ecology (SOHE), physical sciences three additional nominees to be announced **LIBRARY COMMITTEE** (*Faculty Policies and Procedures* 6.46.) The committee serves as the faculty advisory body for policy and planning for libraries throughout the university, including the General Library System. Two faculty members are to be elected to serve four-year terms. The committee must have eight faculty members with two from each division. The six continuing faculty members include one from the arts and humanities division, one from the biological sciences division, two from the physical sciences division, and two from the social studies division. One faculty member from the arts and humanities division and one faculty member from the biological sciences division must be elected.

Hans Adler, German (L&S), arts and humanities Karen Britland, English (L&S), arts and humanities Karl Broman, Biostatistics and Medical Informatics (SMPH), biological sciences Warren Porter, Zoology (L&S), biological sciences

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE (*Faculty Policies and Procedures* **6.54.**) The committee serves as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate, represents the faculty in major policy matters, and serves as the faculty's grievance committee except for matters within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. <u>Two faculty members are to be elected to serve three-year terms</u>. No more than three members shall be from a single school or college, and at least one member shall be from each faculty division. Of the four continuing faculty members, two are from the biological sciences division, one is from the physical sciences division, and one is from the social studies division; school/college representation of the continuing members is: two from the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, one from the College of Engineering, and one from the School of Medicine and Public Health. *At least one faculty member from the arts and humanities division must be elected*.

Michael Bernard-Donals, English (L&S), arts and humanities Mark Cook, Animal Sciences (CALS), biological sciences Ivy Corfis, Spanish and Portuguese (L&S), arts and humanities Dietram Scheufele, Life Sciences Communication, social studies

2010-11 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIP

Susan Babcock, Materials Science and Engineering Thomas Broman, History of Science Gail Geiger, Art History Maribeth Gettinger, Educational Psychology Mary Elizabeth Graue (chair), Curriculum and Instruction Bret Larget, Botany Brent McCown, Horticulture Stephen Nelsen, Chemistry Philip O'Leary, Engineering Professional Development Ellen Sapega, Spanish and Portuguese