

Resolution to support the realignment of UW-Extension Cooperative Extension

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin was established by law in 1848, under the provisions of the Wisconsin Constitution to be located at or near the seat of state government and so that the proceeds of all lands granted by the United States to the state would be appropriated to support the state university;

Whereas, the federal Morrill Act of 1862 established the state university, located in Madison, Wisconsin as a land-grant institution;

Whereas, the federal Smith-Lever Act of 1914 established cooperative extension at land-grant universities; and

Whereas, in 1971, with the formation of the University of Wisconsin System, UW-Extension was created as a separate institution consisting of three divisions: Cooperative Extension, General Extension, and Educational Communications (Public TV and Radio);

Therefore, be it resolved that the UW-Madison Academic Staff Assembly supports the realignment of UW-Extension Cooperative Extension back to the state of Wisconsin's land-grant institution.