Approved at 9-10-2012 Assembly Meeting

ACADEMIC STAFF ASSEMBLY MEETING 272 Bascom Hall Monday, May 14, 2012; 3:30 to 5:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Provost Paul DeLuca called the meeting to order at 3:34.

MEMORIAL RESOLUTION FOR JAMES STEELE, REGISTRAR'S OFFICE

AUTOMATIC CONSENT BUSINESS

Minutes for the Monday, April 9, 2012 Academic Staff Assembly meeting were approved as distributed.

GUESTS:

Kathi Kilgore and Janet Swandby, Academic Staff Professionals Representation Organization (ASPRO): ASPRO's report focused on the recently completed legislative session and a review of the upcoming recall elections. Two issues that may return in the next session are legislation on 'double dipping' by retired public employees and the introduction of TIAA-CREF as an optional retirement plan. Recall elections for the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and four state senators are scheduled for June 5. Kilgore and Swandby also reviewed the history of ASPRO and its role in representing academic staff.

Standing Committee and Other Reports

- ASEC Heather Daniels/Daña Alder: The Communications Committee student interns were recognized for their contributions. Jo Ann Carr was introduced as the Interim Secretary of Academic Staff. Thanks were extended to Assembly Members for their work in representing academic staff and for their responses to HR Design Phase 1. Compensation and Economic Benefits Committee – Dennis Ray/Karen Tusack presented a referenced new document regarding layoffs that is intended provide key information for those facing layoffs. ASEC will invite APO to comment on this document before it is finalized. Please send comments to CEBC.
- Mentoring Committee Dija Selimi/Brenda Spychalla: The program application has been revised and will be sent out soon. The end of year event for mentors and mentees is schedule for May 17.
- Professional Development and Recognition Committee Jane Terpstra/Scott Mellor: Scott thanked the School of Business for funding five executive education grants. Academic staff submitted requests for \$57,000 in funding for the last round of Professional Development Grants for an award pool of \$27,000. PDRC is working with ASEC to identify additional sources for PD grants as15 very good projects were not funded.
- Advisory Committee on Budget Issues, Policies and Strategies Russell Dimond: The committee is working with Steve Lund on the Critical Academic staff fund and anticipate decision/announcement by July 1.

If you have questions about an agenda item, or if you wish to receive any attachments, please contact Jo Ann Carr, Interim Secretary of the Academic Staff, at 263-2985 or email <u>interim-soas@mailplus.wisc.edu</u>. Academic Staff Assembly and ASEC minutes, standing committee rosters, Assembly reps and alts rosters, Assembly district constituent rosters, and documents are available on the web. To locate materials, please see the academic staff homepage http://acstaff.wisc.edu. If you need any special accommodations for the Assembly meetings, contact the Secretary.

GUEST: Darrell Bazzell, Vice Chancellor for Administration updated the Assembly on the HR design work. This project represents a major area of flexibility sought by the UW system and should provide a HR system that reflects our needs and values and allows us to respond to needs that are unique to our institution. The new design needs to be complete July 1, 2013 and the titling and compensation structure will occur after that. Vice Chancellor expressed thanks for those who have worked on this and those who have commented.

Bob Lavigna presented a brief Powerpoint about the work completed to date. Phase two teams will present final recommendations the first week of June. The project work team will review over the summer with conversations with the campus and with governance groups planned for the fall. The revised HR system will be sent to the Board of Regents by the end of the calendar year and to JOCER early in 2013.

Assembly members stressed the need for campus leadership to ensure consistent application of policy across campus as well as the need for supervisory training for all supervisors. There may be specific governance policies in ASPP and FPP that will need to be reviewed as part of the HR design.

BUSINESS

Election Results: Heather McFadden, Denny Hackel, Marwa Bassiouni, Erin Silva, and Robert Newsom were elected to ASEC. George Ash, Laura Gallagher, and Laura Silverberg were elected to the Communications Committee. Maya Holtzman, Jason Jankoski, and Mats Johannson were elected to CEBE. Tori Richardson and Mary Possin were elected to DRC. Amy Kuehn, Scott J. Ferguson, and Bryan Bowen were elected to MC. Stephen Devoti, Barbara Gerloff and Jim Rogers were elected to NC. Scott Mellor, John Klatt, Leah Ujda, Amy Hawley, and Curtis Ryals were elected to PDRC. Melissa Amos-Landgraf, Tim O'Connor, and Jessica Rivera were elected to PPPC.

HR Design Update: Representatives from the four phase two teams as well as from the Diverse Workforce Team presented information on their work. The Diverse workforce team's mission was to issue recommendations that will enhance a diverse and equitable workforce at UW Madison as well as to analyze implications for diversity if the recommendations of the other ten work teams were made. The Phase two work teams are employee management, performance management, transition and succession, and workplace flexibility. Questions from Assembly members focused on providing training for performance management, the use of upward evaluation, the need for a special appeals panel proposed by workplace flexibility, uneven implementation of workplace flexibility and performance management across campus, how to meet the goals of performance based compensation without growing the bureaucracy of the university, and the change to a 30 day notice period for layoffs.

PROVOST'S REMARKS: The Provost reminded the Assembly of the upcoming Ice Cream Social on Bascom Hill and thanked Heather Daniels for her outstanding leadership during the past year.

The meeting adjourned at 5:02. Submitted by Jo Ann Carr, Interim Secretary of the Academic Staff

If you have questions about an agenda item, or if you wish to receive any attachments, please contact Jo Ann Carr, Interim Secretary of the Academic Staff, at 263-2985 or email <u>interim-soas@mailplus.wisc.edu</u>. Academic Staff Assembly and ASEC minutes, standing committee rosters, Assembly reps and alts rosters, Assembly district constituent rosters, and documents are available on the web. To locate materials, please see the academic staff homepage http://acstaff.wisc.edu. If you need any special accommodations for the Assembly meetings, contact the Secretary.