SIS/Building Your Schedule of Classes - Deleting vs. Canceling Sections

logo

This document outlines the differences between deleting and canceling a class section.


Deleting sections vs canceling sections and appropriate use cases

Delete a class section when: 

Schedule of Classes has not been released. A class section should only be deleted if the Schedule of Classes for that term has not been released yet in Course Search & Enroll.

Cancel a class section when: 

Schedule of Classes has been released. Canceling a section after Schedule of Classes for that term has been released and appears in Course Search & Enroll will ensure students receive correct information in the enrollment system.

Never delete a section after the Schedule of Classes has been released; doing so will remove the class number, resulting in errors for enrollment and student confusion.

Important: You will have to work with Curricular Services to cancel a section with enrollment.


How to delete a section before the Schedule of Classes is published

  1. Navigate to the course in Maintain Schedule of Classes

  2. Open the section to be deleted

  3. Select the “-” button on the top right corner of the section

  4. Select Save.


How to cancel a section after the Schedule of Classes is published

  1. Navigate to Maintain Schedule of Classes

  2. One the Enrollment Control tab, in the Class Status menu, select “Canceled section.”

  3. Select the yellow Cancel Class button

  4. Select Save.




Keywords:registrar, Office of the Registrar, RO, delete, cancel, sections, course, class, remove   Doc ID:118637
Owner:Ellen C.Group:Office of the Registrar
Created:2022-05-20 11:26 CDTUpdated:2022-07-22 15:33 CDT
Sites:Office of the Registrar
Feedback:  0   0